ARTIST PAGES

      SHAPPI KHORSANDI  NEWS

  • ROMESH RANGANATHAN NAMED HARDEST WORKING ARTIST OF 2016

    ROMESH RANGANATHAN NAMED HARDEST WORKING ARTIST OF 2016

    Ents24 has revealed their list of the Hardest Working Artists of 2016 in the worlds of music and comedy, with Off The Kerb's Romesh Ranganathan coming out on top, and five more acts in the top ten.

    The charts, based on data from the UK's biggest live guide, determined which original music acts and comedians performed at the most different venues this year - with some surprising results.

    Russell Kane comes in second, Mark Steel fourth, Seann Walsh seventh, Rob Beckett eighth, Rich Hall tenth and Shappi Khorsandi in eleventh.

    For full listings of all current tours, featuring these artists and more, please check our tour listings page here.

  • SHAPPI KHORSANDI: OH MY COUNTRY! FROM MORRIS DANCING TO MORRISSEY

    SHAPPI KHORSANDI: OH MY COUNTRY! FROM MORRIS DANCING TO MORRISSEY

    Shappi is celebrating the fortieth anniversary of her arrival in Britain. She's reclaiming patriotism, sending a love letter to her adopted land. Please don’t come if you're a skinhead (though naturally bald folk are welcome).

    'She has plenty to say, and says it with pointedness and potency' - The Guardian

    Star of Live At The Apollo, Michael McIntyre’s Comedy Roadshow, Friday Night with Jonathan Ross, Have I Got News for You and Q.I, she is back with a brand new show for 2016. 

    She has whip-crack jokes and is effortlessly funny as she handles every subject with a razor sharp wit, softened only by her deliciously mischievous delivery and endless charm.

     

    Shappi Khorsandi is also the best selling author of A Beginners Guide to Acting English and her debut novel Nina is not OK is published by Ebury in July 2016. Shappi was also recently elected president of the British Humanist society.

    'Seriously funny and suprisingly filthy' - The New Statesman

    'Makes live comedy thrilling' - The Evening Standard

  • SHAPPI KHORSANDI APPEARS ON SARA PASCOE AT THE COMEDY STORE TONIGHT ON COMEDY CENTRAL

    SHAPPI KHORSANDI APPEARS ON SARA PASCOE AT THE COMEDY STORE TONIGHT ON COMEDY CENTRAL

    Tune in tonight (Wednesday 16th November) at 10:30pm as Shappi Khorsandi, Tom Ward and Nish Kumar appear on Sara Pascoe at The Comedy Store on Comedy Central.

  • RUSSELL KANE AT THE COMEDY STORE AIRS TONIGHT (19TH OCTOBER) ON COMEDY CENTRAL

    RUSSELL KANE AT THE COMEDY STORE AIRS TONIGHT (19TH OCTOBER) ON COMEDY CENTRAL

    Catch Joel Dommett, Nick Dixon and Tom Wrigglesworth as they join Russell Kane tonight (Wednesday 19th October) on Comedy Central at 10:30pm.

    Upcoming episodes also include Ivo Graham on October 26th, Nathan Caton on November 2nd, Shappi Khorsandi on November 16th and Suzi Ruffell on November 23rd.

  • SECOMBE THEATRES GIGS CANCELLED

    Unfortunately, due to Sutton Theatres going into administration, the following shows will not be going ahead at the Secombe Theatre.

    Josh Widdicombe: 18/8/16
    Jeremy Hardy: 17/9/16
    Seann Walsh: 17/11/16
    Shappi Khorsandi: 1/12/16
    Marcus Brigstocke: 2/12/16

    We are sorry for any inconvenience caused.

  • SHAPPI KHORSANDI’S NEW NOVEL OUT NOW

    SHAPPI KHORSANDI’S NEW NOVEL OUT NOW

    Nina does not have a drinking problem. She likes a drink, sure. But what seventeen-year-old doesn't?

    Nina's mum isn't so sure. But she's busy with her new husband and five year old Katie. And Nina's almost an adult after all.

    And if Nina sometimes wakes up with little memory of what happened the night before , then her friends are all too happy to fill in the blanks. Nina's drunken exploits are the stuff of college legend.

    But then one dark Sunday morning, even her friends can't help piece together Saturday night.

    All Nina feels is a deep sense of shame, that something very bad has happened to her...

    A dark, funny - sometimes shocking - coming of age novel from one of the UK's leading comedians. Nina Is Not OK will appeal to fans of Caitlin Moran and Lena Dunham.

    'Absolutely brilliant... incredibly loud and true... a pure marvel' - Jenny Colgan

    'Unexpectedly moving, emotional and funny' - Richard E Grant

    'Absolutely bloody magnificent' - Marian Keyes

    'funny, sharp and heartbreakingly honest' - Louise O'Neill

    Published 28th July by Ebury, you can buy the book here.

  • SHAPPI KHORSANDI’S DEBUT NOVEL TO BE PUBLISHED BY EBURY

    SHAPPI KHORSANDI’S DEBUT NOVEL TO BE PUBLISHED BY EBURY

    Ebury Fiction Publishing Director Gillian Green has bought World All Language rights to comedian Shappi Khorsandi's debut novel from Off The Kerb Productions.

    Nina is Not OK, a dark, funny coming of age novel about a young teenage girl's struggle to overcome addiction, will be published in July 2016.

    Shappi Khorsandi said: 'This opportunity to let Nina out of my head and on to the pages of a book has been a great relief. She was causing me no end of grief. But now she is out, with my help and with the support of wonderful Ebury, Nina can flourish and take us with her on her adventure. Heaven help us.'

    Nina is Not OK will be published in hardback in July 2016.

  • WELCOME TO OFF THE KERB PRODUCTIONS

    Please check back regularly as we build up news on all your favourite acts – as agents to the best comic talent in the United Kingdom, you will find news and announcements here before anywhere else, as well as safe links to purchase tour tickets whilst avoiding ticket touts.

BIOGRAPHY

Facebook

Twitter

The daughter of an exiled writer and comic from Iran, Shappi’s upbringing has been in no way conventional. From mental illness to opium dens, it’s all gone on in the Khorsandi household and now she recounts it all the only way she knows how, with wit, warmth and hilarity.

Shappi Khorsandi

Shappi took her one women show Carry on Shappi to the 2008 Edinburgh Festival and then on to The Soho Theatre.

In 2007, Shappi won Best Breakthrough Act at the Chortle Awards. That same year, she took her show Carry on Shappi to the Fringe when she was eight months pregnant, enticing at least one critic to plead ‘go and see her before her waters break!’ She was back in early 2008, taking Carry on Shappi to the Soho Theatre in London.

Shappi’s 2006 show, Asylum Speaker was an Edinburgh sell-out, followed by an extended run at The Soho Theatre.

Shappi Khorsandi

TV and radio

Shappi has appeared on Have I Got News For You, on BBC1’s Lenny’s Britain and BBC4’s Never Mind the Full Stops. She’s a regular contributor to BBC Radio 4 programmes such as Quote… Unquote, The Now Show, Just a Minute, and also contributed to From Tehran With Laughter. Shappi has also taken part in BBC4’s The Big Read.

Shappi Khorsandi

Shappi is a sought after cultural commentator appearing on ITV’s Sunday Edition, BBC Radio 4’s Woman’s Hour, Radio 5 Live, BBC World Service & LBC and also in The Guardian, The Independent, Metro and on BBC News website. She was also a panellist on BBC’s Question Time. Shappi has presented a series for Open University and is a regular roving reporter for BBC South’s Inside Out.

She has gigged internationally in the United States, the Middle East, Singapore, Australia and Amsterdam.

Comedy is a family business for the Khorsandi’s. In Los Angeles, Shappi performed in a seven week sell-out run with her brother in a show called How to be Iranian as well as starring in her own one hour show. Other work in America included a month-long tour supporting her father in his extremely popular stand-up show.

Press

‘Don’t be fooled by her innocent looks, she packs a deceptively powerful punch’ – Evening Standard

‘Britain’s best young female comic by any yardstick’ – The Guardian

‘Asylum Speaker is both adorable and daring, a rare combination… Khorsandi has star quality’ – The Independent