ARTIST PAGES

      SHAPPI KHORSANDI  NEWS

  • BOOK LAUNCH FOR SHAPPI KHORSANDI’S NINA IS NOT OK

    BOOK LAUNCH FOR SHAPPI KHORSANDI’S NINA IS NOT OK

    Spend the evening with leading comedian Shappi Khorsandi as she talks about her smart, funny and controversial debut novel, Nina is Not Ok.

    Shappi is one of our most charming and honest comedians and she'll be talking to Viv Groskop about teenage self-esteem, consent, addiction, social media and what it means to be a grown-up. (As well as the most embarrassing thing Shappi will admit to in public about her own teen years.)

    Shappi's career has taken her to all corners of the globe, she has appeared on countless TV show including: Live At The Apollo, Have I Got News For You, QI, The Graham Norton Show andFriday Night with Jonathan Ross. She is also the author of the bestselling childhood memoir, A Beginner's Guide To Acting English.

    Tickets are available here.

  • SHAPPI KHORSANDI’S NEW NOVEL TO BE RELEASED 28TH JULY

    SHAPPI KHORSANDI’S NEW NOVEL TO BE RELEASED 28TH JULY

    Nina does not have a drinking problem. She likes a drink, sure. But what seventeen-year-old doesn't?

    Nina's mum isn't so sure. But she's busy with her new husband and five year old Katie. And Nina's almost an adult after all.

    And if Nina sometimes wakes up with little memory of what happened the night before , then her friends are all too happy to fill in the blanks. Nina's drunken exploits are the stuff of college legend.

    But then one dark Sunday morning, even her friends can't help piece together Saturday night.

    All Nina feels is a deep sense of shame, that something very bad has happened to her...

    A dark, funny - sometimes shocking - coming of age novel from one of the UK's leading comedians. Nina Is Not OK will appeal to fans of Caitlin Moran and Lena Dunham.

    'Absolutely brilliant... incredibly loud and true... a pure marvel' - Jenny Colgan

    'Unexpectedly moving, emotional and funny' - Richard E Grant

    'Absolutely bloody magnificent' - Marian Keyes

    'funny, sharp and heartbreakingly honest' - Louise O'Neill

    Published 28th July by Ebury, you can pre-order the book here.

  • SHAPPI KHORSANDI’S DEBUT NOVEL TO BE PUBLISHED BY EBURY

    SHAPPI KHORSANDI’S DEBUT NOVEL TO BE PUBLISHED BY EBURY

    Ebury Fiction Publishing Director Gillian Green has bought World All Language rights to comedian Shappi Khorsandi's debut novel from Off The Kerb Productions.

    Nina is Not OK, a dark, funny coming of age novel about a young teenage girl's struggle to overcome addiction, will be published in July 2016.

    Shappi Khorsandi said: 'This opportunity to let Nina out of my head and on to the pages of a book has been a great relief. She was causing me no end of grief. But now she is out, with my help and with the support of wonderful Ebury, Nina can flourish and take us with her on her adventure. Heaven help us.'

    Nina is Not OK will be published in hardback in July 2016.

  • WELCOME TO OFF THE KERB PRODUCTIONS

    Please check back regularly as we build up news on all your favourite acts – as agents to the best comic talent in the United Kingdom, you will find news and announcements here before anywhere else, as well as safe links to purchase tour tickets whilst avoiding ticket touts.

BIOGRAPHY

Facebook

Twitter

The daughter of an exiled writer and comic from Iran, Shappi’s upbringing has been in no way conventional. From mental illness to opium dens, it’s all gone on in the Khorsandi household and now she recounts it all the only way she knows how, with wit, warmth and hilarity.

Shappi Khorsandi

Shappi took her one women show Carry on Shappi to the 2008 Edinburgh Festival and then on to The Soho Theatre.

In 2007, Shappi won Best Breakthrough Act at the Chortle Awards. That same year, she took her show Carry on Shappi to the Fringe when she was eight months pregnant, enticing at least one critic to plead ‘go and see her before her waters break!’ She was back in early 2008, taking Carry on Shappi to the Soho Theatre in London.

Shappi’s 2006 show, Asylum Speaker was an Edinburgh sell-out, followed by an extended run at The Soho Theatre.

Shappi Khorsandi

TV and radio

Shappi has appeared on Have I Got News For You, on BBC1’s Lenny’s Britain and BBC4’s Never Mind the Full Stops. She’s a regular contributor to BBC Radio 4 programmes such as Quote… Unquote, The Now Show, Just a Minute, and also contributed to From Tehran With Laughter. Shappi has also taken part in BBC4’s The Big Read.

Shappi Khorsandi

Shappi is a sought after cultural commentator appearing on ITV’s Sunday Edition, BBC Radio 4’s Woman’s Hour, Radio 5 Live, BBC World Service & LBC and also in The Guardian, The Independent, Metro and on BBC News website. She was also a panellist on BBC’s Question Time. Shappi has presented a series for Open University and is a regular roving reporter for BBC South’s Inside Out.

She has gigged internationally in the United States, the Middle East, Singapore, Australia and Amsterdam.

Comedy is a family business for the Khorsandi’s. In Los Angeles, Shappi performed in a seven week sell-out run with her brother in a show called How to be Iranian as well as starring in her own one hour show. Other work in America included a month-long tour supporting her father in his extremely popular stand-up show.

Press

‘Don’t be fooled by her innocent looks, she packs a deceptively powerful punch’ – Evening Standard

‘Britain’s best young female comic by any yardstick’ – The Guardian

‘Asylum Speaker is both adorable and daring, a rare combination… Khorsandi has star quality’ – The Independent